What do you consider to be a creepy crawler?

This week we explored insects and bugs. We got our hands dirty! (literally) We were discussing insects that we can find in a garden. We used magnify glasses to find a few. We learned that the old lady in There Was An Old Lady Who Swallowed a Fly, swallowed two insects.

Are you aware that God created the bugs and insects on day six? These preschoolers are learning that the bugs and insects are part of the animals that God created. God created all living things.

What do you consider to be a creepy crawler? A spider, gecko, millipede….etc… Well, most of my kids are braver than I. Worms, caterpillars, meal worms, rollypollies, and beetles only intrigued them. 🙂 I love their sense of exploring and investigating living things. Boys and girls both, excited to dig, touch, and hold what I consider to be a creepy crawler. (lol) No fear could I show if I wanted them to explore God’s critters. 😉

One of my friends said she wanted to eat worms, another friend said that worms were gross and cool, I had another mention that she wanted a pet spider, and one more friend that said they liked crickets. Everyone mentioned they liked ladybugs. (I like them too)

Ask your child about worm eggs, worms, aphids, pupa’s, meal worms, beetles, ladybugs, caterpillars, and lizards. We had many different insects that were categorized, grouped, sorted by likeness and differences, etc….. I have many interesting comments and surprising likes and dislikes to share. A list is being compiled to print for all to view.

Wait until you see the pictures of critters climbing up their arms, worms being pulled out of the dirt, their eyes exploring for insects hidden in the grass, and homemade mud dirt cups with editable worms. I don’t have my camera, I must of left it at work. 😦

Their favorite song of the week: Ladybug, Ladybug.https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qjhSgMqsAfM

Check out a worm egg hatching that the kids thought was cool. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d5iguHHlyiQ

Next, they will learn about ants, dragon flies, bumblebees, and fireflies.

We will talk about Mothers all next week. I can not share at this time our plans for Mother’s Day. It is a surprise! 🙂  We will also talk about ways the church and family work together and shares the responsibility of teaching children how to grow in love.

Leave a comment